

European Veterans Fencing

2023 Congress, Thionville

Tuesday 16th May 2023

Minutes

1. Present

Г				
	Karen Grant	Secretary/Treasurer	Rick Van Der Weide	NETHERLANDS
	Benoit Pincemaille	Board member	Mariusz Poyrtva	POLAND
	Leonardo Patti	Board member	Frederico-Fonseca- Santos	PORTUGAL
	Michiel Uitdehaag	Board member	Tomas Ginzery	Slovakia
	Peter Brigola	AUSTRIA	Angela de Rioja	SPAIN
	Paul Van Agtamel	BELGIUM	Kersten Warvsten	SWEDEN
	Denis Bicanic	CROATIA	Vladyslav Boykov	UKRAINE
	Varpu Wiens	FINLAND		
	Harald Lueders	GERMANY	Kola Ayanwale	GREAT BRITAIN
	Gillian Aghajan	GREAT BRITIAN	Alexis Cortesbueno	BELGIUM
	Atilla Csak	HUNGARY	Thierry Fremalle	BELGIUM

Maria Adelaide Marini	ITALY	Clyne Grant	Invited to take minutes and be returning officer for the votes.
Gross Gergry	ISRAEL		

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

All members introduced themselves to the meeting.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Caryl Oliver

John Mason

Sue Church (MOH)

David Sweeney (MOH)

Jorgen Kock (MOH)

Michael Ryan (Ireland)

Anton Kreiger (Switzerland)

Darko Knez (Slovenia)

Hynek Koutney (Czech Republic)

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE 2021 CONGRESS

The minutes were approved. Nominated by Gillian Aghajan, seconded by Benoit Pincemaille

Nem. Con

4. PRESIDENTS REPORT

This was handed out before the start of the meeting. Caryl started the report apologising from being unable to attend as she was undergoing medical treatment. She was delighted at the success of the team event in Hamburg in 2022 and at the growth in numbers of the European veteran's circuit competitions and the growth in status in the European Fencer of the Year. Another important fact is the adoption of our Veteran and Grand Veteran team structure for the team World Championships. This is available on the web site.

5. CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION

These changes were distributed by e mail in advance of the meeting. There were three main changes regarding membership, management, and duties of directors. These had been discussed last year and agreed. There were no objections. Nem. Con

6. SECRETARY/TREASURERS REPORT

These were sent out in advance by e mail. There were no questions. Nem.com. This is available on the web site.

7. EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIPS

- The presentation is now up on the website.
- The 2024 team Championships will be held in Ciney, Belgium.
- The Individual Championships in 2025 will be in Klagenfurt (Austria).
- In 2026 for the Team event, we had a presentation from Madrid. This was voted in. Nem.con
- In 2027 for the individual event we had a presentation from Skopje, Macedonia. This was voted in. Nem.con

8. CHAMPOINSHIP REPORTS

Benoit presented a comprehensive report (available on web site) on the numbers involved and predicted for the individual and team events. Thionville had 1550 entries, down from Cognac which was 1600.

The ability for fencers to move out of their age groups in the team events was discussed but it has been decided that they will not be able to. This will help to encourage countries to increase their fencer numbers long term.

Limiting the size of the competition was discussed, but at present it is possible to keep it as an open entry for 2025.

Combining the individual and team was also discussed. This would make a much larger competition and we would not be able to keep the individual as an open event. So no change.

9. CIRCUIT COMPETITIONS

This presentation was delivered by Leonardo. All numbers are increasing and more people are travelling to events now which is excellent news. The board are looking at formalising the role of an observer to these events and providing funding for this role.

Available on web site.

10. ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS

There were 3 positions.

- President. There was only one nomination for this position. Caryl Oliver. Her nomination statement was e mailed to members of congress prior to the meeting. A vote was taken and there were 20 votes for and 0 against. Caryl Oliver was voted in as President. Nem.con
- Director Technology. No vote was required for this as the decision was taken last year that John Mason would stand down and Michiel Uitdehaag would replace him. John will remain part of the team as rankings officer.
- Director general. We had 3 nominations for this position. Angela De Rioja Attila Czak

Peter Brigola

Their nomination information was distributed by e mail in advance of the meeting.

Each representative did a 5-minute presentation to congress.

A vote by ballot was done and a first past the post system was used.

The votes were counted and checked by Clyne Grant, the returning officer. Angela de Rioja – 5 votes

Attila Csak - 9 votes

Peter Brigola – 7 votes

Attila Csak was therefore voted onto the board as a director.

11. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Nations were asked to think about the veteran name and if we would like to keep this. Can be discussed next year if necessary.

There was no other business.

Meeting was closed.